It�s Worth It To Preface The Major Players

I�ve talked before about how funny I find big important meetings with the high flyers and doers of the company, but after today�s one I just had to revisit the amusement. I was a last minute addition to the meeting so I came in all unprepared today. I didn�t have any make up on, I wasn�t wearing my meeting high heels and stockings, but at least I was wearing a meeting worthy skirt and shirt.

So funnily enough it was another advertising type company presenting to us (we already use them, just our department though) with some new packages they�d put together cause they were launching a new version of the site later this month. The usual business card shuffle happened but it wasn�t as funny with only two people. I noticed that the two blokes liked to use buzz words a lot and the ones that stood out the most were �major players� and �it�s worth it to preface�. The latter seemed the funniest to me cause for years I�d read books with prefaces in it but had never actually heard anyone pronounce it. I used to think it was �pre face� instead of �prefiss� so every time he�d say the word my mind would giggle. It�s like when you heard the word superfluous for the first time.

The funniest thing happened though when our associate director pointed out that the figures the company was quoting for �special cheaper� advertising were in fact more expensive than we pay now. It was all I could do not to burst out laughing in that point. My eyes sent a silent �touch� to the AD. It�s funny watching people back pedal and bring excuses of the air when they know that keeping their job depends on getting your business.

It would have been worth it to preface this with the fact that I�m a major player, don�t you think? J

Tyd

08 August 2002 - 11:30 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011