Deputy Managing Director, Secretary � It�s All The Same Isn�t It?

I had to go to a big important meeting today. Well I thought it was big and important and up until half an hour before it I had no idea what it was about. The big boss asked me to attend in his place because he and the slightly smaller boss had to pitch for a project at that time. He said in the email to the head marketing person that the Residential Secretary/Deputy Managing Director would be attending. Even with this comment I�m still not allowed to get business cards darn it :o)

So I went to the meeting (which was actually an advertising company pitching to us to have us use them as our media provider and so on) and tried not to be petrified. Of course I�d planned my outfit the night before (which I almost never do for work) and I was quite happy with my executive look. I have to plan my whole day around the shoes I wear, high heels in particular. I brought lunch with me today so I didn�t have to go outside and do any unnecessary walking in tottering shoes. Anyway, I didn�t type this up to talk about my shoes, lets segue way into the meeting.

So I was the second person to arrive, one of the directors from Sales was there (there was a representative from every division from Investor Services) and so was the main presentation-y guy. A few minutes later the rest of the presentation-y team came in. There were handshakes all round and much card swapping. It was hilarious to watch cause whenever another person came into the room they�d have to shake hands with everyone and it was like their life depended on it. The card swapping was the funniest. It reminded me of American Psycho when they were all showing their cards and how they had different cardboard or lettering or something. Hilarious!

I thought that us support people were the only ones drifting off during big presentations and meetings but one of the head honchos starting writing on the pad of paper next to him to the bloke whose pad of paper it was. I thought it must be really important but I noticed later that he was commenting on the fact that the presentation team had a good looking girl in it and they must have brought her to liven up the presentation and keep the men interested. Haha, men are sooo controlled by a pretty face.

Hold my calls, I�m in a meeting!

Tyd

11 April 2002 - 3:50 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011