The Work Series: Is Everyone�s Sanity Accounted For?

I am a very annoyable person. Annoyable, not annoying. Well okay, I�m also annoying, but not in this story. The tiniest thing can annoy me about someone and before you know it by the end of the day it�s escalated (in my mind) to something the size of Antarctica.

There is this woman at work who is certifiably insane, if only for her accent. I have heard Irish people talk and if this woman is Irish, as she claims to be, then she must come from a part of Ireland that hasn�t been founded yet.

Sometimes she sounds like she�s trying to swallow her own head when she speaks and other times I�m just waiting for her to pull a key out of her pocket and stick it in the pitch to give me the latest pitch report, ala Tony Greig.

And then her randomness of talking to you, even thought you haven�t made eye contact is ultra disturbing. She fairly babbles at you (anything from her mother to her chiropodist comes into it), grabs your arm, calls you Angel and repeats how great a day she�s having. She has no concept of personal space. I may have to start shouting �Get out of my radius� while waving my arms about me.

Sometimes she�ll go to the bathroom and give herself a loud pep talk. And when she calls up a company, eg Telstra instead of saying �Good morning Robin, how are you?� she says �Good morning Telstra, how are you?�

Or maybe it�s just an Accounts Temp thing in the grain industry. All of the accounting temps we�ve had have been a little off kilter. The newest one dodges around the office and then hops from foot to foot while he�s talking to you. Like he�s wound up ready to strike. Like a weasel.

Sometimes it�s comforting to know that there are other people in the world more nutty than me.

Tyd

18 November 2004 - 12:05 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011