A Summons for My Teeth?

For the past two years I�ve been trying to get my wisdom teeth removed. They are lying at a 45 degree angle in my gums and in rembrance of my teeth removal when I got braces I have flat out refused to get them taken out in the chair.

I�ve had a bad relationship with dentists and dental offices since a dentist chipped away a small part of my gum whilst cleaning my teeth (it DIDN�T grow back).

The first appointment to discuss it ended in a �We�ve just had a surgeon leave so we�ll contact you when we�ve got the new one�. My hatred of all things dental cause me to not follow them up until a year later. I had to leave a message and someone would get back to me. Do you think they did?

I mentioned it off hand at my regular checkup in September and they took me through to the bloke to talk to him. He said he�d be doing a procedure like that in October and someone will call me.

No one did. So I called...he then said he wouldn�t be doing it in October, but would be doing it in December and that he�d never said he was doing it in October *cough*bullpoop*cough*. I couldn�t do December as I was going overseas.

He then said he�d be doing it in February and gave me the forms to fill out etc so I�d be all ready. He said someone would call me to confirm the date (he�d said the second Monday of the month). I called as the date got closer to find out (as I hadn�t been contacted) the exact date as I needed to know whether or not to accept work from the agency.

Two messages later and nothing. I then gave up and thought I�d try again in July after the play had finished.

On Tuesday I received in the mail a letter stating that my operation would occur on Monday 24th of April and that the day surgery would contact me with the time I needed to be there in the morning.

Excuse me? A letter? Are they kidding? It was worded such that it made it appear that I was aware of this and I was ready and raring to go and could in no way refuse them.

Well you can imagine how that call went when I rang them to let them know I would be not attending on such a day (as I�m committed to a 6 week assignment of work) and that I didn�t appreciate all this fracking around.

I then got the lady to confirm with me (3 times I believe) that they do this operation in the day surgery every month (without fail) and that I would be able to get a date in July, or at least something that suited me. She did try to convince me to get it in the chair (so much easier to arrange and more frequently done) with the lovely phrase �What they use, it�s like the date rape drug � you don�t remember a blessed thing� but I understandably declined.

Someone is going to call me to confirm a date with me for July.

Yeah, I think I�ll just be calling her every day for the next two weeks just to check.

The health fund is obviously too busy making sure Steve Waugh is happy and not their other customers.

Nursing a mouthful of pain

Tyd

7 April 2006 - 1:38 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011