[Blatant Advertising] Nair Cire Divine [Blatant Advertising]

I am not influenced by TV advertising at all. I will not go out and buy something just because the Brand Power lady thinks it�s tickety-boo*. I will not purchase a certain type of oil because John Laws says it�s the best. In fact I just wouldn�t buy it out of principle, stupid man.

But the other day I did buy something because I saw it on TV. I was wholly influenced by the ad because it was about something I know nothing about.

Leg wax.

I have been a quite happy shaver for ten years or so. Never had the urge to wax because it sounds painful and after a fun little incident involving my underarm, a mini-wax strip and some bleeding I have discovered it is in fact bloody painful. But I have ingrown hairs, lots of them, and I cut myself more often than I cut the cheese.

The ad made it look so easy and I just had to try. It looks like a peel-off mask like you put on your face. It is pink but I am willing to overlook that minor blunder in their marketing strategy.

So I tried it Saturday night while I was watching the Australia Unites: Reach Out To Asia telethon and it could have been because I was crying as the impact of how horrible the tsunami was finally hit me, but the leg wax was crap. Sure it pulled a few hairs but it just didn�t have the effect it should have. Nowhere in the little leaflet does it mention that the wax has the annoying habit of being like cheese on a pizza. Thin strands all over the kitchen!

So then I decided to do something far more important and jumped on the net to donate to Oxfam. What does leg wax matter when thousands are homeless and susceptible to disease?

Exactly.

Tyd

* Oh okay, so maybe I did. But it was the FETA spread. If you knew how obsessed I am with feta cheese it�s a forgone conclusion that I would have bought it anyway. I just didn�t have the chance to see it on the shelves before she recommended it. I totally absolve myself from any wrong doing. So there. *cough*

10 January 2005 - 12:49 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011