A Severe Case Of Assishness

Ten years ago when someone asked me what Tyd stood for and I knew I�d just cobbled together three letters, I didn�t take much time to think about what it could stand for. The Yodelling Donkey just came outta nowhere.

I�m beginning to think that due to the stubbornness of donkeys, it really was far more appropriate than I realised.

Yesterday I went to IKEA. So basically yesterday going to be a good day. I was going to IKEA, they had the wardrobes in stock and I was going to buy things and then organise to have them delivered as they seemed a little hefty for me to handle and a little big to fit in my car.

So I got my trolley all loaded up with five boxes (2 each for the wardrobes and one desk), paid and then headed to the delivery desk. Now IKEA doesn�t have their own delivery people, they contract it out. I looked at the sign detailing the rates and because I�d just spent a sizable amount at the cash register I was disinclined to spend $75 on delivery. Besides, the bloke at the information desk in bedding reckoned I should be able to fit it in my car. So I asked the delivery bloke what he thought (showing him my car that was parked conveniently by the exit. He just shrugged and said �Sure, it might fit�

The enthusiasm was so much that I thought everyone in the room might pass out. So I forgoed the delivery charge (Bek-a-Rooney in the Melbourne office had pretty much convinced me earlier) and attempted to put the boxes (with a total weight of 215kg) into my widdle car.

Now I could have asked for help. But that would have involved going back into the store, past the cash registers and to the self-service section to ask someone to traipse out to my car to help me. And as my lunch hour was rapidly running out...I decided, heck no, I can handle this!

This would be where the extreme donkey-like behaviour comes in. I�m bloody stubborn when I want to be and on this occasion, I wanted to be.

After practically dismantling the inside of my car, filling three buckets with sweat, swearing, grunting and rueing the day that 5 men would walk past a woman who was struggling and ignore her, I got everything in the car. I would like to thank the lady with the small child in the stroller who offered to help me. I said I didn�t need any help. *brays like an ass*

I was vastly more sensible when I got home and waited for The Sexy to come home before transferring all the bits into the house. He was surprised that I managed to get it all into the car myself considering the boxes weighed 50kg each on average.

When I�m by myself I can achieve amazing things...but stick someone else in the room and I�ll fall back on them everytime.

Tyd

27 July 2006 - 10:31 am

Make your mark | 2 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011