Little Animals, Big Noises

It�s amazing how blind (and deaf) you can be to some things when you�re living at home with your parents. Now that I�ve moved out I see (and hear) everything in a different light. Back home my mice would be positioned in a room that was far away from mine because I had a sliding door that the cat could open and the other room didn�t. I was pretty cocooned in my little room and hence sounds at night just didn�t occur. I moved out to live in a room with no door (it could be under the house, we�re not sure) but happy in the fact that there is no cat at this place and I can have my mice in my room and we have the chance to bond. Welcome to the Land of Wrong, population me.

I knew they ran on their wheel at night, I knew it was quite loud, I thought if I disabled the wheel at night I would be fine. I hate being wrong. Last night I initially put them out into the kitchen so they could run around on the wheel and not disturb anybody as we slept. It sounded as loud as if they were in my room and next to my ear. So I brought them into my room and disabled the wheel. They ran around a little shuffling the shavings too and fro but that wasn�t too bad�that I could live with. What I couldn�t live with was the 4.39am wake up call of Winky running down from her little sleeping hole and biting the cage bars one at a time creating a weird xylophone effect. It was like she was literally trying to rip the cage open so she could climb up the ladder to where I was sleeping and give me a piece of her mind about the disabled wheel. Needless to say turning on the light and staring at them for a good part of 5 minutes stop their urges.

I connected up the wheel as soon as I got out of bed and Winky was going hell for leather. She was just so damn excited to get her wheel back and functioning. Dad once suggested that I connect them up to a generator � he reckons you could power a TV with them. I put one of my fingers up to the edge of the cage and she gave me a playful bite. I pulled my finger away and she reached out her little paw and tried to pull it back. Okay, so maybe she thought my finger was food but it was just so cute seeing her reach out her little paw and try to grab my finger like a little baby would. I rewarded her cuteness with a pet chocolate. Tonight I�m going to put them in the wardrobe, maybe that�ll block the sound.

They are like miniature wallabies or something. Al said to think of them as mouseupials. Too cute!

Tyd

14 August 2002 - 11:48 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011