She�s Leaving Home

It�s hard to decide whether or not I�m terrified or just way too excited. I went over to Allykatze�s place last night with Emz for coffee and cake. Emz told me in the car on the way there that�s she�s thinking about moving in with Allykatze for 6 weeks as a trial thing. I remember back in high school when we�d talk about growing up and all living in a place together. Sure you plan and stuff but you never think it�s really going to genuinely happen. Allykatze�s a very private, by herself type of person but she admitted that she�d love to have roommates. We were sitting in the room that will become Emz�s and she was saying if they had three people it would only be $75 a week (plus food). �That�s only $25 more than I pay at home at the moment, that�s something I could do� I mused. Next thing you know they�ve convinced me to move out of home and in with them.

Arrggghhh!!! There is only one factor that�s making me think � maybe not. I�m pretty much given my word and my handshake though that I wouldn�t back out. The factor is my bed. I remember how much of a bugger it was to put together (I did it by myself and ended up squashed against the wall with a back cramp) and I really don�t want to have to deconstruct and then reconstruct again. You�re sitting there reading this thinking, what a wimp, it�s just a bed, get over it. Oh no my IKEA loft bed is horror on stilts. Of course I was stupid in thinking that I could construct it by myself and in the exact space that it was to go. I decided to get a loft bed so I�d have more room and be able to put my desk under it. Of course it never occurred to me to take the desk out of the way, construct the bed and then push the desk into place. So there I was trying to put the bed together with pieces of wood falling all over the place and my desk right in the middle. I had about a 30cm gap between the wall and my desk and that is where I got stuck and in crampy world. I had dropped the Allen key and bent down backwards to try and retrieve it. Big mistake. So there I was stuck in between the wall and my desk screaming blue murder and no one was home. After a terrifying 3 or so minutes of cramp pain my back gave up and I was able to escape.

Also it�s not like I can put together the top bit and then add the legs. The head and foot boards are all encompassing of the legs at either end so I�m pretty much screwed with wanting to transport it half constructed. It�ll be down to screws and slats in no time. One good thing is that the ladder is just tacked onto the bed so I don�t have to pull that apart. Of course as luck would have it that was the easier part to put together and I had fun doing it.

This is already a long entry but now I have to talk about the good things about moving and how excited we were that I made Allykatze take us on a tour of the shops, train station and the lake nearby so we could fully decide whether we�d do this. The train station is quite close, they�ve got some decent shops and I like the street she lives in cause it�s small and quiet.

I move out mid-August so after then you can expect stories of roommate hijinks from then on.

Tyd

22 July 2002 - 10:43 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011