Messing With Your Mind, Man

Yesterday was Deustche's wedding and it was a lot of fun. She looked gorgeous (of course!) and the weather was thankfully good (as they were married outside and rain was predicted). It seemed like there was a small explosion of pregnant people though - nine women at the wedding are pregnant. Holy cow!

Now since I got pregnant I have had a few different due dates bandied about. The doctor thought one thing (quite wrong if you ask me), the midwife thinks another (closer to the truth) and the one I think myself. Now the doctor's date just happened to be yesterday. Yesterday I was in a bit of a fun mood. So I thought it would be amusing to tell the people at our table at the reception that the 28th was my due date.

It's amazing how every person had the exact same look on their face when giving them that news. The fact that I am a ticking time bomb in disguise.

And as I am quite a shit-stirrer I decided to have some fun with it. I would frown occasionally and touch my stomach in concern. I would insist that I really wanted to get up onto the dance floor and party away (a myth that you get a sudden burst of energy right before going into labour) and when we were getting a group shot as the camera clicked I exclaimed "Oh no, my waters just broke!" which should make for an interesting photo.

I also think that some people think that once a woman is quite advanced in pregnancy that she just sits down and gives up on everything else that normal people do on a day to day basis. I impressed quite a few people by telling them I had painted my toenails that morning (which I haven't done for about three years and as I was wearing thongs on my feet I thought at least my toes should look fancy...it was a wedding after all!)

Mind you, I didn't tell them how uncomfortable it was and how I had to brace myself against the wall with one leg up on the bath - which coincidentally is the only way I can still do up running shoes when I want to go for a walk in the morning.

As we left the reception and said goodbye to the Bride and Groom the Bride spoke to the baby and said "Okay, you can come out now if you like, the wedding is over" to which Katze and her husband who had driven us there both gave looks of horror. I thought it best that when we got in the car I actually showed them that I wasn't just kidding about having a few garbage bags in my emergency bag, I really did have two of them all at the ready.

Katze's hubby immediately tried to stick one under my butt hehehe

Still full of bub (that ticker at the bottom is fairly accurate)

Tyd

29 March 2009 - 1:00 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011