Tyd & The Football Curse

I don�t tend to watch a lot of sport. Not because I don�t enjoy it, but because I get far too involved in it and I can�t let it go.

Take case in point: The goal that shouldn�t have been in the Australia vs Japan World Cup match. I ranted at the screen, I yelled for no reason and then I broke a coathanger. Half an hour later and I was still pissed off. In fact, with 15 minutes to go in the game I decided to go to bed as I was still fuming and I figured that my presence was having a detrimental effect on the game.

I have a feeling I might be a jinx. I didn�t watch their qualifying game against Uruguay (the one in Sydney) and they won. Because they were losing last night I thought it best to go to bed and hope they managed to pull a goal out of somewhere. I went into the bedroom and there were sounds of general good play happening. My plan had worked � then I thought it best to pop into the bathroom before I went to bed. BAM! I was in the room two seconds and Aloisi gets a yellow card. Yes, yes, he shoved the bloke � but maybe if I hadn�t been in the room he may have run around him or the Japanese fellow might have run a different way. I then installed myself in bed and hoped for the best.

I was in bed (lying on my left side, hugging a stuffed hippo and thinking about rissoles) not two minutes when they got a goal. So evidenced by the shout of �YES!� coming from The Sexy in the lounge room. I rolled over onto my back and then I heard him grumbling about some referee decision, so I rolled back onto my left side, hugged the hippo and thought about rissoles.

�YES!� another goal! I then decided it was best to lie there on my left side, hugging the hippo and thinking about rissoles for the remainder of the game.

�YES!�

Three goals to one. So not only do we get our first ever goal in a World Cup, we get the second and third ones too.

So from the clear and irrefutable evidence above it appears that I am no longer allowed to watch a Socceroos game. Only if we want them to lose. And let�s face it, with the Brazil match coming up, there will be no hope of that. We�ll need all the positive energy we can get.

So it looks like next weekend I shall be lying on my left side, hugging a stuffed hippo and thinking about rissoles.

Tyd

13 June 2006 - 10:54 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011