Some New Office Flora

I think I�ve mentioned it before, I work in a fairly male-dominated office. So much so that before I started here, the amount of women on this level equalled the amount of stalls in the bathroom � three.

So we had a new lady start the other day and I�d forgotten what it was like to work with another female. And by �work� I really mean �chat, gossip and bitch�. Ahhh.

We share a few things in common. Well not the rich husband, posh family, Harvard education bit (do I even need to point out that that part is not me? :oP) but the unusual name thing. And we both refuse to say hi to someone if they have our names.

Most people find this odd. It�s just that I have never actual met (face-to-face) someone with my name. If my name was say, Rebecca, then I�m sure I would have had to say hello to quite a few people with my name, but it isn�t and I haven�t. I like being a little unique, and so does *thinks for a nickname for new lady* PalmTree. So named, not because she has a lovely bunch of coconuts, but because she�s tall and because her name is somehow related to nature.

Growing up with an unusual name makes me want any future children I have to have unusual names too. It�s just nice when you�re growing up to feel that there is something special about you because you�re unique.

But there is no way I�ll name them after fruit, that�s just fracking weird!

Tyd

21 September 2005 - 2:22 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011