Discharge Better Than Exemption

So I called the information line on the Monday and was not required for the Tuesday session, but calling on the Tuesday afternoon I was required for the Wednesday session.

Finally, my chance to do my civic duty!

So turned up at the court, went through security, got my juror number card and sat down. And waited. And waited.

Then my panel was herded into a courtroom and roll call was taken. I handed in my form with the flight details for our NZ trip attached so that I could get put on a shorter trial. Then we went back to the assembly room and waited. Then we watched a very badly acted video about jury duty and I tried not to burst out laughing. And waited.

The lady called my number, I went up and was told I was put in the ballot for a two week trial. Perfect. I stressed how eager I was to do it.

Then I sat down and waited. And waited. And watched them set up the sandwiches for lunch. And waited.

And then the lady called a bunch of us up and told us that we were discharged and wouldn�t be called up for another year.

Yay? I�m in two minds about this.

Firstly, I wanted to do it for the experience and the short hours and be able to kick start my exercise program properly.

But secondly, I didn�t want to do it because I would be receiving a pittance to do it as workplaces don�t pay temps if they aren�t at work (funny that).

So I�m sorta happy and sorta not. But if I'd been exempted instead of discharged I could have been called up again in 12 weeks. So I suppose it's a good thing.

Tyd

24 August 2006 - 9:33 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011