The Powers of Deduction

I have a constant problem at workplaces. I get introduced to people (sometimes after a glass of wine) and the next time I see them I�m buggered if I can remember their name...or if in fact I�ve actually met them before. And then they always say �Hi� and include my name and I�m left to be rather lame and all �Oh hi, how you doing?�. So to cover up that lameness I never use anyone's name.

The first job I had, this nice girl said hi to me for about a year before I figured out what her name was. The company had three levels in the building and it took me that long to find out where she sat so I could look at her nameplate.

At this workplace not everyone has a little name tag on their desk and people are moving about constantly. But I have discovered a new way to identify people!

Our photocopiers are all singing and all dancing. They copy, fax, scan, print etc. Pretty standard thing in offices nowadays I guess. So when I have a lot of copying to do lots of people usually come in to pick up their print jobs. And they say hi to me and I look all confused and think �Who the fuddly are you?�

The copier has a �Completed jobs� function. Now all I need to do is click on that, find out which user just sent a job and then commit name and face to memory.

Isn�t technology amazing? Of course, if we didn�t have all this technology there would probably be no need for all this as everyone would still communicate like human beings face to face and not be all about the email.

Tyd

22 August 2005 - 9:49 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011