Singapore Trip: Day One � Komala�s

We arrived in steamy Singapore around 2.00pm and proceeded to lug our suitcases and carry on luggage to the MRT (train) station. We bought an ez-link ticket and put $10 on it (you can use it on the buses and trains. You just tap a reader at the beginning and end of your trip and it automatically deducts the amount of the trip) and jumped on a train to head to our hotel.

We dumped our bags in our room and collapsed on the bed in the air conditioned comfort. I can�t actually remember what we did in the afternoon apart from unpacking our suitcases and CCB eating chicken legs from Maccas. Can you believe in the lobby of our hotel there was a McDonalds? Talk about convenient cholesterol. We contacted ours friends and Vanda, Wynnie and Edward said they would come by our hotel at 6pm and we�d be going to Little India for dinner. I�m a notorious finicky eater and I said I was sure that I�d be able to find something to eat.

We jumped a bus heading to Little India and after alighting at our stop were overcome with the scent of incense. Just up the road from the bus stop was a Hindu temple. I loved the smell of the incense they were using (not sure exactly what the smell was, might have been sandalwood) and Vanda said if we want to we could go in but I was too paranoid that I�d do something to offend the worshippers so I declined. We arrived at Komala�s for dinner and found out that in was an Indian fast food restaurant. That was amusing for a little while as I thought of ordering McPappadums and a Curry McFlurrie cause the restaurant seemed so much like Maccas in appearance. The menu wasn�t like Maccas of course and I have a lovely pancake type thing stuffed with potatoes and carrots and some sort of bright yellow sauce stuff. I didn�t want to ask what it was cause then I probably wouldn�t have wanted to eat it.

We wandered around Little India looking at all the shops (Wynnie and I both tried on Punjabi outfits but didn�t buy) and then we walked to the Bugis district which is basically non-stop shops and markets. I got a drink in a plastic bag with a handle on it and a straw sticking out the top. Very unusual. There was just so much colour and so many shops. We ended up in a supermarket called Cold Storage that�s motto was �The fresh food people� � must be the same company as Woolies. There I discovered grape Mentos. GRAPE!!! I have never seen grape Mentos in my life until that day and I can tell you, it changed me. I now believe that the confectionary companies keep back all the good flavours and give us the boring four fruits and mint ones. Needless to say I bought six packets to bring back home. I�ve only got two and a half left now.

What will day two bring? Totally Tomato Twisties do I hear you say? Surely not. Actually that�s day three in Malaysia :o)

Tyd

23 September 2002 - 10:10 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011