A Magical Christmas Day

It was weird waking up on Christmas morning and not being with my family. It was also weird waking up on Christmas morning with a slight hangover. Normally the drinks that the gang and I have on Christmas Eve I drive to so there is no drinking for me. Alleykatze and I went to Shelle�s party and then onto the pub that Al used to work at. The upside and the downside of having worked in a pub for three years is that you know everyone and they all know you. So we went to a party after that and then a good friend of Al�s from training drove us home and we sat around the lounge room nattering for a while. Got to bed about 4.30am so I was pretty tired. Didn�t get a whole deal of sleep because I had to get up and be at the parental units house by about 2pm.

The last few Christmas lunch/dinners have been at my aunties place or last year it was at CCB and Cray�s place. The parental units haven�t hosted it for a while so I knew Mum would be stressed out. She was a little but not as much as I expected. I was having bad hair that day so I wore my Santa hat and was declared Santa for the day. Thank goodness Ma and Pa have air conditioning cause although it was a blistering hot day like last year it was still fairly warm and the hat was making my head sweat. So I distributed presents and we all sat down to rip open the gifts and marvel at how well we all know each other. This is what I got: Three Harry Potter lego sets, a HP photoframe, a book about JK Rowling, a white chocolate frog, a HP calendar, a HP washcloth, three HP figurines (Ron, George and Harry), Lindt chocolates, a crime novel and some beans for my bean bag. Can you say drenched in Harry Potter goodness? I think you can! A bonza year for me I must say.

Cray got The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring extended DVD version for Christmas and we decided to sit down to watch it. He and CCB left about half way through and he said I could finish watching it. So I finished watching it and then decided to check out the audio commentary and the behind the scenes �The Fellowship of the Cast� and the �Day in the life of a Hobbit� and numerous other things. I was trying to stay awake so I could call my friend in Texas and wish her a Merry Christmas. So at 3.30am I picked up the phone and called her. I didn�t really know what to say (hadn�t planned that far ahead) because although we email all the time we�ve never actually spoken to each other. It was lovely to talk to her and it was then that I realised how tired I was. I had promised Ma and Pa that I would do the washing up before I went to bed. So I struggled through eleven people�s worth of washing up and then thought I�d just check out the �Cameras in Middle Earth� feature which looked interesting. Outside started to look a little lighter. At six thirty when Dad and Papa started emerging to have breakfast and start the day I thought I really ought to go to bed and get some shut eye. I was up again at eight thirty when Papa and Gram were leaving to head back down the coast home and I had to show Gram how to use her new mobile phone. Then we went to see Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (third time for me). I�m quite surprised that I didn�t fall asleep.

Is it too much to ask to be slotted into the HP and LOTR worlds? Is it?

Tyd

30 December 2002 - 11:19 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011