Singapore Trip: Day Eight � Changi

I�ve been to a lot of war memorials and a lot of Anzac Day ceremonies and I�ve watched and looked, sadly at all that happens but I�ve never really felt all that connected to it all. I know they died bravely to protect our country and I appreciate it, I really do. But when I went to the Changi memorial near the airport in Singapore I broke down crying. My grandfather was housed at Changi for a few months before they moved him to Sumatra to work on the Sumatra railway (as bad as the Burma railway, just not as well known). I wandered around the memorials reading all the testimonies from soldiers, students and civilians and I felt all of a sudden I was connected to this horrible tragedy. One particular omission from a British soldier remains in my memory �They gave me a puppy to eat, and even though I was so incredibly hungry, I still couldn�t eat it�.

What type of world are we living in? This renews my ideas of protesting against Bush and this stupid war he wants to wage on Iraq. It�s ridiculous. Show him pictures of the skeletal prisoners, of the soldiers being beheaded, of the rotting bodies. Show that to him and then maybe he�ll take his stupid war aspirations and stick them somewhere the sun doesn�t shine. He�s not thinking on a humanitarian level. Say out of it Bush. I hate to be all political here but it�s really pissing me off.

Vanda drove us Changi so we could check out the memorial and then spend some time shopping at the airport before our flight was to leave. I watched three movies and a few episodes of Friends on the plane and got absolutely no sleep. I then thought it wise that I didn�t go to work that morning (our flight came about 6.00am) and spent the rest of the day flaked out at Mum and Dad�s place just soaking up the sleepy goodness.

So there you have it, the whole kit and caboodle trip to Singapore. I�ve put a new link off to the side there *points* so whenever I go on a holidays somewhere all my entries will be put in there for safe keeping. I�ll put up a picture of the henna tattoo I got on my hand too.

Tyd

11 October 2002 - 11:45 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011