A Little Less Information, A Little More Vagueness

I�m really into reading history related books at the moment. I�m kinda skipping from continent to continent though to shake it all up a bit and keep it fresh. A while ago I read about the joys of the year 1000 and after a half hearted attempt at reading about the tragedy of Tsar Nicholas (a lot of the people had the same names and it got too confusing) have moved onto the American West. I love that little section in Angus & Robertson that stocks all the history books and I go there at lunch times and drool over the books that I�m yet to purchase and drool more over the books that I won�t purchase cause I�ve given myself a limit of nothing over $30.

Cause I didn�t take history at school (I found the interesting aspect disappeared once you had to study it) I�ve got quite a bit of a limited knowledge on world events and such so I thought I�d start buying a few books to keep me up to date and relevant. My knowledge American history was this: clashes with Indians, outlaws, cowboys, civil war, slavery and fur trading. This book of course talks about that stuff as well as the dash for land, the different parts of the country that were owned by the Spanish and French and the fighting between British and Americans, oh and not to mention the cannibalism. I remember a few years ago there was a movie with Guy �I used to have a scary moustache and mullet in the 80s� Pierce called Ravenous and it was about people eating people and it was set back in those times.

Basically there was an group of people (several different families) that decided to head west (as a lot of people were doing) and after reading a book by a bloke named Hastings decided to take a short cut through some mountains and cause it was winter they got stuck there (albeit in a shanty) and ran out of supplies and eventually had to start eating each other as people dropped from starvation. They would pack up and label the meat so that no one would eat one of their relatives. A rescue party took a long time to reach them and by the time they did it was a shocking scene. Dismembered bodies, skulls split open to devour the brains, human bones scattering the floor and one bloke who after eating human flesh for so long refused to eat anything else. Scary isn�t it? I thought to myself, I could never do something like that, but then again you never know how desperate you could get in a situation like that. How far are you willing to go to survive?

What�s for dinner Ma? It better not be relatives of the neighbours again.

Tyd

12 July 2002 - 10:22 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011