DIY � Don't Injure Yourself

For some reason in the past year I�ve decided that I am some sort of home renovator. I�m not sure where this disillusion came from. The last time I did something DIY it was removing the wallpaper in my bedroom and painting the walls - that took me a very long time and I spent 6 months living on a mattress in the lounge room.

Perhaps I thought I could improve on the past. Get something prepped and painted in less than 6 months. It can be done, I�ve seen it on the telly.

So I thought I�d give painting the bathroom a go. Before The Sexy and I went to Canberra for Yuppy Girl, we painted the bathroom ceiling (as it had never been painted) and left it to dry over the weekend as the tin said it wasn�t allowed to be exposed to steam for 48 hours. A bit of a tough condition, considering it was for a bathroom, but we managed to time that just right.

Then it was time to do the walls.

I scrubbed the walls down, I sanded rough bits, I stirred the paint and then I slapped it on those walls. The first (slightly dodgy) coat was done in about an hour. And the room was blue. Very blue. Extremely blue. It was a stark contrast from the previous white-ish colour.

The Sexy came home from his day of nerding it up and helped me with the second coat. I didn�t read the tin this time. I really should have � it had the same 48 hour steam rule. So about 9 hours after we painted it, it got exposed to steam. Lots of it. And now the paint is streaky. Oh well, I�m sure we can wait until the Christmas break to fix that up.

And in other news, my addiction to IKEA reared it�s head again! I didn�t mean to break the toilet seat as I balanced on it to get to those hard to reach-and-paint spots but I did. So that meant I needed to get another toilet seat. Yet another trip to IKEA.

Such, an effort ;oP

Tyd

6 November 2006 - 9:07 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011