Pizza and Psychiatry

I went out to dinner with some people I haven�t seen in ages on Saturday. Well I hadn�t seen the girl for years, I�d never met her husband, but I did see her brother in July.

She hasn�t changed at all, which was refreshing, and the place we went for dinner La Porchetta was very decently priced. I managed to have dinner for just $6. Pretty fantastic really as I am becoming the tightest tight-arse that you�ll ever meet in the lead up to my big ol� move. It�s funny I talk about it all the time as if it were in 9 days instead of 9 months.

Every time I see her brother I come away feeling a little reflective or off-kilter or something. He�s rather odd, in a pompous sort of way. If you asked him if he�d like to go to the movies he�d probably reply, �One would wish to partake in such an activity, one having not ventured out so much recently�. He speaks as if he�s in Regency England but plays computer games like Doom into the early hours of the morning. He doesn�t spend an awful lot of time with people in the flesh so that probably has something to do with it.

He is a conundrum. But we discovered that we have far more in common than we realised, the least being that we are both convinced we are dying of a terminal disease. The most favourite method is an undetectable brain tumour.

Half the time I suspect he�s using me as a subject for some thesis on human behaviour and neuroses. I don�t mind really because I do sort of treat him like a psychiatrist, blabbing all my problems and weirdness at him. He always has some intellectual response which makes me feel in awe.

I think after Saturday�s encounter it�s got me off balance. I am just sitting here at my desk and having the urge to be sitting on the back of a galloping horse racing through green meadows far, far away.

No doubt he�d have something to say about that

Tyd

22 November 2004 - 9:51 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011