Hey There...Four Eyes

The human race is a funny thing. Some things we seem to show incredible detail too "hey, you have a tiny piece of fluff resting on the edge of your sixth eyelash from the right on your left eye" and other things, well...not so much.

Take for instance the fact that I now wear glasses full time. Apparently it took various opticians 28 years to tell me that I have an astigmatism in both eyes. I had to look that up to get a full explanation because when the lady told me that both my eyes had astigmatisms and told me in layman's terms "your eyes are football shaped" I couldn't stop giggling and didn't take in the rest of the explanation. So wikipedia helped me and now I understand why I couldn't really see very well and had lots of headaches. I have the regular astigmatism if you are wondering, so no contact lenses for me.

But back to the observation skills of the average human.

I was wondering why I would get strange looks from people I see regularly when I pointed to my face saying "Yep, gotta wear these full time, it's kinda crazy, but I'm getting used to it". They looked at me strangely because as one person put it "Haven't you always worn glasses? I just thought you got new ones". Isn't the face the most common thing you look at?

My mother has 28 years worth of pictures proving that I haven't in fact worn glasses all my life.

It's just one of those things though - where you look at someone and think "I know something is different" but you can't quite put your finger on it. A haircut, different lipstick, eyebrows waxed, a nose ring. Things that seem obvious to the wearer but oblivious to the observer.

Lensically yours

Tyd



16 July 2008 - 10:11 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011