Sniff Creates Memory Drift

I was discussing this with Cray at Granny's funeral. We were trying to figure out why the sense of smell brings up stronger memories than any of the other senses.

The smell of a certain type of food can transfer you straight back to a childhood memory of family dinners or a picnic.

The smell of a perfume or cologne will make you think of a kindly older relative or a crush you had at school.

I mentioned it to him as we stood in the tearoom afterwards because Mum had lots of little packets of tissues for us to have during the ceremony. I opened mine when we went earlier in the morning to have the viewing (it is true, the deceased look very peaceful) and I opened up the packet and the tissues had a very distinctive smell. Now unfortunately that smell brings with it an unpleasant memory. Not of smiling, happy Granny (like the smell of Tabu does which strangely enough I can smell right now as I type this) but of 'empty' Granny.

Obviously I prefer the happy smell memories, this is the only bad smell memory I have. I'll have to go about creating more of those good smell memories. No doubt The Sexy is thinking "Shortbread is a good smell, bring on the shortbread, I LOVES the shortbread" :P

Tyd

30 June 2008 - 8:53 am

Make your mark | 2 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011