It's Raining, It's Pouring, The Old Man Is Snoring

Lookie here folks, we�ve got ourselves a gen-U-ine idiot. Yes siree, that�s what I said, a gen-U-ine idiot. All pre-packaged and ready for you to gawk at and poke with a big stick.

It was raining yesterday at lunch. There was a proposal that had to make it to the developer by a certain time. That deadline was not met. The courier company as is always the case when it�s raining was running late. Three and a half hours later it still wasn�t there. The big boss called and said he needed another copy of the proposal to be taken to the same place but for a different person. It had to be there by 3.30pm. Now the old gen-U-ine idiot piped up and said �I�ll just walk it down there! The rain can�t be that bad. I�ll leave about 2.00pm�.

I think that 2.00pm is the cloud change over time, you know like the taxi drivers do. The clouds that have been pouring out the rain for the past shift are tired and depleted of moisture so they call in the recruits. At 1.59pm when I left the office the rain was gentle. By the time I�d come down in the lift George Street was in a foot of water and the pedestrians were surfing the waves from the buses and taxis whizzing past. A vague recollection of a conversation I�d had with one of the bosses ran through my head �Did you want to taxi it?� Said the gen-u-ine idiot in reply �Are you kidding me? Trying to get a taxi in this weather would be murder�.

I dodged six taxi induced waves in the space of 1 minute. Grr.

I waded through a couple of puddles and contemplated taking my shoes off and just going barefoot like a duck. By this time my pants were soaked to knee level and my shoes were doing that pleasant squelching sound like they do when you have half a cloud�s worth of rain in them. Don�t you just love the summer showers?

The beauty part? By the time I got to Sussex Street and delivered the package the rain had stopped. The clouds had hide away like little cowards as I shook my umbrella at them scoldingly.

The idea of wearing scuba gear to work is suddenly very appealing

Tyd

5 February 2002 - 8:43 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011