And The Winner Is...

It was the night of nights this weekend. No I�m not talking about the Logies, how pass� dahling. I�m talking about the Inaugural Genesian Awards! The night in which everyone frocks up (well some of the blokes put on suits), drinks too much, makes funny speeches, dance around, complain about the food (or lack of) and just generally have a good time and pat each other on the back.

I was nervous. Extremely nervous. Let�s face it, I�m never going to be eligible for an Academy Award, a Golden Globe, an Emmy, a SAG award or even a Logie *snort* so this was my chance to shine. My chance to stand up and do a hastily cobbled together speech without tripping on my dress (considering it was knee-length would have been quite a feat) or admitting I�d skulled six tequilas and a bottle of wine before the event (which I hadn�t, but had thought about).

The Sexy was also up for a lighting award and a best actor in a major production. At the table we had me, The Sexy, Mum and Dad, Manny and Genevieve. How were we to know that our table would be so popular.

Gen got her award for Best Crew Member in a Workshop and we were off to a good start. The Sexy got his lighting award for The Hound of the Baskervilles and Manny a Best Supporting Actor in a Workshop and a Major Production. Gen got another award for Best Director of a Workshop and then it was down to me. Yuppie Girl had so far won every award it had been nominated for. Would I let the team down by not grasping Best Actress in a Workshop?

No I would not :o) The lovely Meg presented the award and prefaced the announcement with �It gives me great pleasure to announce� that I had won the award. I was dumbstruck. I had to resist doing the Sally Field �You love me, you really love me� bit. I think I started off with �Wow, I�m freaking out�. I then went on to say that I�d never in any lifetime win an Academy Award and that this was it � so I thanked the Hollywood Foreign Press, the Academy and then of course the writer/director the wonderful Genevieve and everyone who voted for me. I then put in a plug for Yuppie Girl as we�ll be doing another performance at the Wyong Theatre Fest on the 24th of June. I couldn�t stop grinning. And as soon as I got back to the table, grasping my Oscar-shaped award in my hand, I immediately ordered a bourbon and coke. It was time to relax and just bask in the recognition of a job well done.

I think I�m going to have to stay in the office at lunch time today...there is no way I�ll be able to fit my head through the door ;oP

Award-winningly yours

Tyd

8 May 2006 - 9:23 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011