My Attention to Detail Is Broked

I have always prided myself on my attention to detail. In fact, in the last few years you might call it obsessive.

But recently...I think it might be broken. And I'm inclined to believe that the attention-to-detail node in my brain might be on the left side of my head, right near the temple and coincidentally the part of my head that I keep randomly (and accidentally) whacking or injuring in some way.

My friend Deustche and her wonderful fiance S had their engagement party recently. The Sexy and I were invited and I received the invitation and was disappointed to see that we would have to decline as it was on the 19th of April and we had a show on.

On the Saturday of the event I decided to bake up a batch of my shortbread and deliver it round in the afternoon as a "Sorry we can't make it tonight, hope you enjoy yourselves" sort of a gift and hang out for a short time.

Now to cut a long story short ("Oi, I heard you in the back there - shush") I rang to find out where she was as her car wasn't at her place only to discover that the party had started at 2pm (at her parents' place, which I had noticed in the invite). For some reason I thought it started at 7.30pm (not just a vague thought of "ah, it's an evening party" but an incredibly definite - 7.30pm). I have no idea where I got this idea from.

So there I was, in my daggy it's-a-bloody-chilly-afternoon clothes while everyone was dolled up in party clothes.

I can't apologise enough for the stupidity.

I am now having an incredibly anal retentive week. There is a woman in our Auckland office who I think won't talk to me for a week or so and a bloke in the Engineering department who thinks I am mentally retarded.

But at least I got the details out of them that I needed. Yes, indeed. If I hadn't spent 2 hours sending very long emails filled with extremely descriptive reasoning, I wouldn't have been able to pay that invoice.

No wonder the RhymingNameGirl at work sometimes calls me a baboon. BABOOOON!

Tyd

PS - I wonder how many grammar and spelling mistakes are in this entry that my malfunctioning attention-to-detail node didn't pick up :P

PPS - And you just know that after I typed that I went back and checked the entry with a fine toothed comb :P

30 April 2008 - 7:37 pm

Make your mark | 2 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011