Always Trying To One-up Everyone

I think it�s just a part of human nature (or perhaps Australian human nature) that everyone is always trying to be the person that is more hard done by, or more pathetic, or more...whatever it may be.

Well let me tell you that the other day I went to IKEA. Yes, I know. The building of multitudes of people (and their running, screaming and bratty children) who are wandering from section to section in an extremely aimless way and generally not paying attention to anything else around them. And this was a Saturday. Oh boy.

So I went and purchased a kitchen table and four chairs. I struggled with the giant box that contained all the bits and pieces and got it on the trolley all by myself (it weighed over 30kg...which is a lot for a weakling girl) and then struggled to the car and a lovely gentleman *this part removed from the story as it doesn�t make you feel sorry for me* and finally got home and �walked� the box into the house where I proceeded to unpack the box and put it all together.

Now for those who don�t regularly visit IKEA and regularly buy things from there and put them together, this seems like a huge feat. So let�s pretend I have never been to IKEA before and have no idea what I�m doing. Proceed with the sympathy. Eventually I put it all together, got it all into the kitchen and felt so proud of my achievement. When The Sexy got home I was all ready to do the �lookie what I did, oh it was all so heavy and difficult, pat me on the head and give me a biscuit�

But no.

He walked in the door and had this to say �Today I helped move 2.54 tonnes of stuff�

Well that just shat all over my achievement didn�t it? There is no way my 30kg could hope to compete with 2.54 tonnes. Believe me I looked at it from all angles in the vague hope there was something I could pick apart and use to my advantage.

Nope, he won. Not only had he moved a lot of crap, he also had an awful lot of cuts, scrapes, bruises and puncture wounds to back it up.

Well done The Sexy :)


Tyd

21 April 2008 - 9:12 am

Make your mark | 1 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011