Oy, You�re Such a Schmuck. Mozeltov!

I don�t know an awful lot about my ancestry. Apart from the fact that on both sides of the family we definitely have Scottish heritage.

Mum�s side is a little bit of a mystery. Apparently there was some big blow up and my Granny won�t speak to my late Grandfather�s side and hasn�t for decades. It�s rather annoying because we know that she knows things and she�s all stubborn and cranky.

So Mum signed up to a genes website and some lady in England registered my Mum�s grandfather�s name on there. Oooohhh, could be related! She was a plethora of information! So much stuff we didn�t know.

So basically to nut it all out � my Mum�s great-grandfather immigrated to England (from Poland) and then his son Anglicised their last name when he got married as it was all �grr argh, foreign people you suck� feeling in London at the time. The most important thing in all of this though is � My great-great-grandmother was a Polish Jew and my great-great grandfather was Italian. We had no idea about this beforehand. I am sooo excited!

So now if people tell me that I look Jewish (which happens on occasion, that and being either Greek, Lebanese or Italian) I can say that I AM Jewish. No matter how far it goes back, it�s still there! IP&D is very proud of her Gypsy blood which goes back years so this is my little thing.

I always wondered why I felt such an affiliation with The Nanny...

Tyd

9 April 2005 - 11:07 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011