Living The High Life � At A Price

As per yesterday�s half hearted entry we went out for drinks for Jason�s farewell. The lucky bugger is spreading his wings and going around the world to surf (that I�m not envious of) and snowboard and find odd jobs here and there to support the fun! I�d love to do that but I don�t know if I could do the whole flying-by-the-seat-of-my-pants deal.

So we went to Cargo Bar for drinks and decided to stay for dinner. We chatted about nothing in particular and one by one people started to leave (well it was Wednesday night and we all had to go to work in the morning) and that left me with Floss and Jan and a bottle of wine. It was by this time that I thought �Do I really want to get a train home and travel an hour until I could get the chance to sleep?� I answered myself with a firm no and then decided I�d just stay in the office and use the showers in the morning. Five seconds later (it was 11.00pm by this time) I thought, no fudge that, I�ll just check into a hotel and get a proper night�s sleep.

I stopped into a 24hr Convenience store and picked up some deodorant, mousse and some food (wasn�t too sure if the breakfast would be included at my choice of hotel) and then marched myself quick smart to the Merchant Court Hotel on Market Street. As luck would have it they had a reasonably priced room available (it was actually a wheelchair access room which was so cool cause the shower was all funky) and after dropping my glass bottle of juice all over the floor in the lobby retired to my room. I was happy to see I got a voucher for a buffet breakfast in the morning, thankfully cause now my breakfast juice was all over the lobby floor. I had the best view because there aren�t any high rise buildings around that part of the hotel and I left the curtains open so that should my phone alarm fail to wake me up the sun surely would.

I sat with all the business people and quietly ate my scrambled eggs, rockmelon, croissant and drank my pineapple juice while feeling like I should put on an accent and say I�m in town for a conference. Then I packed up and left the hotel behind to get to work on time. I loved getting up at 7.30am instead of 6.30am � maybe I should seriously consider buying a little studio apartment in the city for occasions such as this? But alas no, unlike my hotel bill I seriously doubt my credit card could stretch to buying property! Thanks to Henry for checking me in (I may have been tipsy and slightly incoherant) and John-Phillip for checking me out - very polite guys and I think I will take up the offer of chosing your hotel to visit again.

I will return, but I fear my credit card was scared off

Tyd

16 May 2002 - 9:37 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011