I Kissed A Hobbit

Happy New Year everyone! And a very happy one for Norway and their World Idol winner. Congratulations Kurt! And I say that with no malice at all. I didn't expect Guy to win. At least it wasn�t [deleted for my safety]. I would have been ropeable if that boring arse had been crowned.

So back to the title. A group of my friends and I went out for New Years in the city. I really don�t care about the fireworks � it�s all just bits of coloured light in the sky � as you can see it all on the TV news the next day anyway. We ended up at The World in Kings Cross because it�s a backpackers hangout and we love meeting tourists.

In a testiment to how drunk I was it took me about an hour to figure out that the bloke I was talking to was not Irish. I had it in my head he was Irish because he was sitting with two Irish fellows. Finally I actually listened to his voice and thought �Oh crap he�s Scottish and all this time I�ve been waxing lyrical about Irish men�. Turns out I was wrong again.

The first thing I noticed about him was he was cute and short. Cute in that Billy Boyd way, but looking more like a combination of him and Dominic Monaghan, and short as in hobbit. So we�ll call this bloke Mippin (although his real name was Matt). And he was from Yorkshire. See that Shire right at the end there (fully aware it�s pronounced differently) � if that wasn�t an indication I don�t know what was.

So I picked him up. Not in the �How you doing, come back to my place baby� way (well okay I did), but also in the literal sense of I picked him up and twirled him around in a circle. He weighed 17kg less than me and I suggested that he sit on my lap instead of vice versa unless he wanted his legs crushed and useless by morning. It was quite funny.

So all my little LotR fangirl obsessions with the hobbits sort of came to a nice ending at the end of 2003. I�m far less giggly about them now. If I met any of them in the street now I�d be like �So you must know Matt, great bloke eh�

And if any of this doesn�t make sense it�s because I got home at 7.30am yesterday and today I got up at 4.00am to take Dad to the airport. Not all that much sleep and still sort of hungover. I would have been up early this morning anyway because of World Idol being on at 6.30am. It gave me a chance to watch the Sunrise program and discover a very interesting fact.

If I ever see Simon Fuller in the street I will deck him. Good and proper, possibly with a crow bar. You didn�t let our Guy climb that mountain, you bastard. He still probably wouldn�t have won but at least he would have kicked the arse of [deleted for my safety].

Sore loser? You bet I am

Tyd

2 January 2004 - 8:49 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011