Bushfires

It�s at this time of year that people living near bush start to get nervous. Back in 1994 when it was at it�s worse I got a bit worried. My parent�s place doesn�t back onto bush but after seeing (on TV) a fireball go straight over four houses and hit another one you realise how incredibly random this all can be. The bushfires this year have surpassed the ones in 1994 apparently. I didn�t think about how close I was to bush when I moved out of home. Our suburb was evacuated last night. I was on a train trying to get home and I had to go to my sister�s place instead as no trains were going to my station because of the fires. I managed to get home around 9.30pm (they�d started letting people back in around dinner time) and pick up my car from the train station intact.

We watched the creepy orange glow of the smoke clouds and the tops of the flames licking at bush about a kilometre from our house. Pretty scary stuff. The wind is just so unpredictable at the moment, you could be safe one second and under siege the next. We�ve packed up some essentials and are now parking our cars in �safe� suburbs that aren�t currently under attack from fires. Then last night two houses were destroyed in my old suburb. I took the mice to my parent�s place for them to look over but Mum isn�t entirely sure that the house will be okay. She�s prepping it but you never can tell. Also my grandparents live in Callala Bay which is on the evacuation stand by list for the fires around Nowra. My heart goes out to those people that have lost their houses and possessions. It�s not over yet, we could still lose the house and I just know that I�ll be devastated if we do.

On a slightly up moment I finally got to ride on the Millennium train. Yes it�s spacious, the windows are bigger, the chairs have a better design and the doors aren�t as loud when they open and shut. The scrolling marque of the stations it will stop are is great. The voice that is constantly reminding us about which station is next, which station we are currently at and other facts like cameras are monitoring us is annoying. It just says too much. But other than that it was a pretty smooth ride.

Pray for rain, please?

Tyd

5 December 2002 - 3:49 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011