Singapore Trip: Day Four � Singapore Zoological Gardens

We spent Friday the 13th *cough* my 23rd birthday *cough* at the zoo. Mum had mentioned they had a breakfast with wild animals there and I was all up for that. This trip to Singapore was all about the animals for me (oh and the wedding the next day :oP).

The breakfast started off with Mum, CCB and I getting to the zoo way too early and before it had even opened. The ticket lady (who came rushing out of nowhere with her cup of tea clutched in her hand and keys to open up the ticket booth in the other) lets us go through early and it was great to be able to wander past all the animals who were the most active at that time of the morning cause the unbearable sun and heat was yet to get to them. We spent a bit of time looking at some monkeys (not sure what type) that put on a right royal show for us and then tried to shield their baby from view when I zoomed in with the video camera. We saw some red pandas and also orangutans before we got to the place of the wild breakfast. We positioned ourselves right at the front near a sign that said Welcome to Wild Breakfast and nearby that was a cage with an otter in it. As the bloke rolled the sign back up and carefully placed the pull cord in plain view I had a feeling that the otter or another animal would be responsible for pulling it down and revealing the sign. Modestly said � I was right!

Then the bloke starting talking about the diamond back python and as I said the other day I got to hold the snake, have it wrap itself around me and lick my armpit. Too cool! I definitely think that Freebie, Scampi* and Suel-Suel* would have a problem with me getting one for a pet though because of them being mice and the major food group for snakes and all. Then they brought out an orangutan with her three-month old baby that was just so adorable.

The rest of the day was spent drifting from enclosure to enclosure � being 30cm away from a prowling leopard, laughing at the Jackass penguins (true name!) and stopping at every monkey place we saw. I got up close and personal with a tamarin monkey and made funny faces at a lemur that was licking his butt. I love animals and I really want to work in a zoo. Think I should take the chance and quit my job?

* Freebie seemed incredibly lonely after Winky died so I bought her two friends last weekend. They are too little to go in the cage because they could slip through the bars (very funny story to come later regarding that) so at the moment they are having visits in the big cage with my supervision. The added bonus of them though is that they have tails and are theoretically easier to catch that way.

Tyd

27 September 2002 - 8:10 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011