Don't Spruik With Me, Mate

I'm a very determined person. Whether it be getting what is rightfully mine or making my way to the train station on time, I'm not one to be messed with. So I bring you this:

Last night I'd arranged to meet Mum on the train so that we could walk home together (the newspaper reports about the gang rapes and the assaults are getting worse) - safety in numbers!

So I was walking out of the building and I walk into my sister, not literally and to tell you the truth I didn't even notice her walking past. I'm that blinded by determination. So she has to tap me on the arm as I pass to wake me up. I kinda freeze and brain still doesn't really register, then remember she's come into head office to do a presentation thing that she was stressing about so I give her an awkward hug thing that makes her glasses all skew-wift and tell her good luck while hurtling like a cannonball towards Pitt Street Mall. I'd got up a pretty good pace by now so imagine my immense shock when some bloke starts to jog after me and ask me whether I'm interested in Skirmish Paintball. If it's one thing I can't stand it's those people that stand in Pitt Street Mall giving out pamphlets on 'EXCITING NEW DEALS!' or asking you some other stupid question I can't think of right now. I turned to look at him and said 'Huh?' which was all I could manage at that moment being determined and all. So he continues which lead me to exclaim 'What the f*%k?' rather loudly down the echo lane that is the Imperial Arcade as I passed it. But it was worth it for the shocked look on the old folks faces as I passed them.

It wasn't the most intelligent thing I could have said but hey, determination takes away all brain power with me. Which obviously can lead to big problems. I wish I'd actually said (and recorded it for all future spruikers) 'Do I look like I have the time? I'm pumping my legs as hard as I can and I keep lookin at my watch every millisecond, in what dimension does that say to you - Well gee mate, sure I've got 20 minutes to chat to you about crap that I'm not interested in.' I actually had a lady offer me a pamphlet once when I was holding a box with both hands and puffing away. I said to her 'Do I look like I have three arms?!'. She apparently was from a planet where they have three arms, or drop whatever they are holding to grab a shiny pamphlet. I had to side step her as she tried to wedge the paper in between my knuckles.

I pity them - but I loathe them even more.

Remembering to put Anger Management Class dates in my diary from now on

Tyd 23 August 2001 - 3:46 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011