My Complacency Problem

I was asked at a party why I have chosen a homebirth for the bouncing bundle of joy that should make it�s entrance in April sometime. My usual answer is �I don�t like hospitals� which is very true.

But now I think more about it, I have figured out it�s more than just that. I don�t like hospitals for a reason. They make me feel uncomfortable. At home, I am king of my castle, I�m the one in charge because it�s my place (okay, technically it�s the Mother-in-Law�s place � but we do pay rent) and what I say goes.

When I am in a place in which someone else is innately more qualified than me at what they are doing (be it a doctor, a nurse, a hairdresser, the sandwich maker next door to work, a mechanic, etc) I just defer to them. I figured they�ve done the hard yards and studied for years and came out all qualified and special. Where as I have a diploma in filing and typing.

Today when I went to get a sandwich for lunch I asked for it with butter and then I watched him make it without butter and I didn�t say a bloody thing! I could just imagine what could happen to me in a hospital with a bunch of unnecessary stuff going on because I don�t open my mouth to tell them to back off.

My midwife has been practising as a homebirth midwife for almost 30 years. I am happy to defer to her if she detects something is going wrong with the birth as she doesn�t sit there with a scalpel in her hand ready to give me major abdominal surgery. Plus she knows what we want and she�ll be able to advocate for us if we do have to transfer to the hospital and she is able to tell them what I do and do not want (because I figure I�ll be busy in my own little world revolving around pain, throwing up and wanting it to come out and be all over � that�s never a good frame of mind to be in when you need to make major medical decisions).

So I am focusing all my energy on this little one being nice and cooperative and not giving Mummy a stressful time and coming out when it wants to and in the lounge room would be ideal.

Plus at home, there are no machines that go �ping!� ;P

Tyd

18 December 2008 - 12:08 pm

Make your mark | 1 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011