Tyd and the Yum Cha Duo

I have complained a lot in the past about annoying conjunction agents and how they make me want to rip our their hair. Yep, their hair, not mine, cause well...it�ll hurt, duh. There always has to be one in the bunch that rises above that clich� and is just all round darn nice. This would be Peter.

Since last year an invoice remained unpaid and until we were paid we couldn�t pay his company. But he was so nice about it the whole time. There are other people that would call me up two weeks after a settlement yelling and screaming and demanding money or they would do something awful. Calling was bad enough in my opinion. Peter sent me a box of chocolates for Christmas just to say thanks for my efforts. Finally last week we could send him a cheque for something that settled in October 2002. And he said he�s take me out for Yum Cha. I didn�t think he was serious, but he was. Today lunch was on him.

I have never met him face to face so I just stood awkwardly until a man approached me and we both rightly assumed that we were each other. He is Chinese so in a room full of Chinese I was probably easy to pick out cause he knew from dealing with me over the phone that I wasn�t Chinese. There was another man sitting at the table who was another conjunction agent (also quite nice) that I�d been dealing with over the phone recently as well.

I prepared myself to eat a whole lot of foods that I didn�t necessarily like. I don�t like rice. So of course the Yum Cha was going to be interesting. I did eat some rice (tried not to think about it), some chicken infused tofu, something that was a little weird but I swallowed it anyway and I tried some chrysanthemum tea. I don�t drink tea normally (I don�t drink coffee either) so that was an interesting experience. I didn�t like it but seeing as he was paying for lunch I did pretend for a bit and took a sip every now and then followed by a mouthful of spring roll to wash it down.

He was telling Joe (the other agent) about how wonderful I was and it was nice to have my head swelled for an hour or so. It�s nice that a person it a different company can appreciate my efforts and yet those in my own department don�t. All I�m asking for is a little appreciation sometimes, is that too much to ask?

So that was my first official schmoozing lunch. Fun! And Peter said we should do it again sometimes. As long as he doesn�t spring another surprise agent guest on me like Iris (the one who likes to yell and abuse), I think I can handle that.

Tyd

28 May 2003 - 5:09 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011