Don�t Dumb It Down

There is a lot of things I�d love to do posts about when it comes to DonkJnr (upgraded from BabyDonk � he�s not a baby anymore) but I feel like putting it on Facebook would offend some people or it would just come across as blatant boasting or something. I like to think I�m a fairly humble person and giant displays of �Look how good I am, I�m freaking awesome!� make me sick.

The truth is, I�m very proud of DonkJnr and the little person he�s becoming. His language and comprehension is very good and it seems that a lot of kids at his daycare or at the local park aren�t at the same level. I then feel like I have to justify how smart he is in relation to their kid that is older and isn�t saying/understanding the same things. I understand the needs of parents when it comes to your child. You want them to fit in, you want them to be up with their peers and you don�t want them to be the kid in the class that is perceived to be stupid.

But sometimes I just want to reply with �Oh my god, your child can�t say/do that? Clearly they must be mentally deficient and yes it�s all your fault� with a huge dose of sarcasm. It really sucks to be a parent sometimes, you feel like your whole day is taken up with worrying!

Some parents also have the �good lord, my child is a genius!� trait and begin to think that maybe their child is really a genius and they need to be in accelerated learning. A lot of people have told me DonkJnr is very smart and that he could be gifted but I don�t want to be one of THOSE parents. Maybe he�s excelled at some things but he�s behind in other things. I don�t know because he�s my first. I have nothing to compare him to and I loathe to read books about what they should and shouldn�t be doing because it�ll either worry me (oh joy, more of that!) or I�ll start thinking he�s Einstein.

A father came to pick up his child from daycare yesterday and said child was sitting next to DonkJnr who was having a conversation with the carers. He asked if DonkJnr was supposed to be in this room (2-3 year olds) and how old he was. He looked shocked when they told him he was 2 as he thought he was a lot older. He then told his son to spend more time with DonkJnr and learn from him because he might be PM one day hehe.

Does this mean he�s a genius or a clever mimic? I have no idea but I know that my favourite part of his talking is when he comes to sit on my lap, holds my face in his hands and says �I love my Mummy very much�.

Hmm�yeah, he�s a genius :-P

Tyd


29 September 2011 - 10:08 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011