Vampire: The Masquerade

I had a great night last night. One of the best nights I�ve had in a long time and it didn�t involve alcohol or dancing. There was flirting though...and it was all in character.

I went to a role-playing game last night. I�ve heard a lot about it on the internet, see fun poked at it in movies and films (�You�re a told D&D nerd, man�) but I didn�t really have any idea what it was about.

After Lel Belle�s birthday party the other weekend I got talking to an old friend and it turns out he does RPG. He�s doing a thesis for uni based on human relationships, interactions etc and he�s using it as research. He�s also really gotten into it and suggested that I go along with him yesterday to see what it was all about. I fully intended to observe and take no part in it...I know next to nothing about Vampire: The Masquerade.

There was a TV show a few years back called Kindred: The Embraced and I watched that, enjoyed it and after reading the game book for Vampire discovered they took it from there. So I knew a little bit about the clans and what not. Not enough to create a character though or even dream about participating.

One of the ladies there said it was great to see another girl. I pointed out that I just came to watch and I didn�t know how it all worked. She then told me it was just playing at pretending. I took this moment to say, �So I guess I shouldn�t admit that I�m an actor then?�

You know what�s coming, don�t you? Yep, I got roped into playing a character and I had so much fun. We were playing Sabbat though (which are more vicious than Camarilla and don�t like to acknowledge their in the masquerade) so it was a chance for everyone to go a little nuts. It was freeform and my friend created the character for me. I was a ghoul (human but drinks the blood of vampires...basically a vampire minion) and did everything my mistress told me too. I also had a flame thrower and a whip :o)

The storyteller decided though that I wasn�t quite human and hence I survived three fireballs. My clothes didn�t survive though so I was wandering around the streets wearing nothing but my boots. I got clothes in a convenient Kmart (however they stocked no underwear) and then we ended up busting into a bar and to distract the patrons my character jumped up onto the bar to dance. All blokes immediately lay back on the floor to look up my skirt. Diversion created!

We all died in the end (blown up in a plane) because the Mistress was rude to the head of the Clan, but geez it was fun.

I just spent the good part of an hour searching the web for information on the game and different clans.

I will NOT become addicted to this. One obsession at a time!

Tyd

7 August 2003 - 11:29 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011