The Magical Movie Experience*

* Warning - This entry contains copious amounts of Harry Potter related talk, and it's really long. Also may contain trace of nutters!

Well I return weary and yet happy, filled with the goodness of Harry Potter and thrill seeking rides at Movie World. I spent a whole lot of money that I don�t really have, on merchandise. Two shirts, a towel, two pens, a quill, round playing cards, a keyring, two stamps (Gryffindor & Slytherin), Acid Pops and a bookmark. It�s like gambling, I just can�t stop.

I wanted to climb aboard the Hogwarts Express but it was gated off. The replica of Diagon Alley was pretty cool. I was so psyched and then felt a little let down once we were in there and wandering around. I was planning on cracking onto one of the guides so that maybe they would let us hang around for a bit longer and we wouldn�t get rushed through. I screwed it up in about two seconds. He looked at me and said �I don�t care for your shirt� � I was wearing a Lord Voldemort shirt. To which I replied �I don�t care� in a very creepy English accent and looking up at him with my evil possessed look. Damnit! I was wearing a Gryffindor backpack though, I wonder if he noticed. I�m also wondering why he was looking at my chest in the first place. HA!

When we went back for a second (and third and fourth) time though it was a different person (less cute but a lot nicer) and he was totally obsessed with HP too. He was trying to catch me out by asking me questions he didn�t think I�d be able to answer. I got them all right! Yay me! I was worried he was going to ask a real doozy so I starting just chatting instead. It was great to just wander around Diagon Alley chattering away and feeling like you were the only one there. From 4.30 until closing there was no else there so he got them to turn the lights down so it would look like it did in the movie, sort of dark and Dickens like. It was excellent. He told us all about what they used to have before they changed it to reflect Chamber of Secrets. It all sounded so amazing. My friend sat in front of Flories and pretended to eat ice cream � I hung out in front of Flourish and Blotts, we both stood out the front of Gringotts and I thought about purchasing some herbs at the Apothecary. If you squinted you almost felt like you were in the movie. There was Aragog and the car also but I didn�t find that as fascinating. I didn�t find out the name of the bloke which was a shame, it would have been nice to keep in contact. We just decided to label him Harry. Not original, but we�ll remember him. And he still wanted to talk to me even though I wandered around grasping my wand and trying it out on things.

I think that because the world of Harry Potter seems so much cooler than my life that I would like to retreat into it fully. I get annoyed going into the WB shops and not seeing all the merchandise that other franchises have. I used to think Batman suitcases were a bit silly, but gosh darn it, where is my Ron suitcase! Or my Hermione potion bottle set? Where did they hide the Lockhart brand toothpaste for those wanting a Witch Weekly worthy smile? And where oh where can I get my hands on a pair of Snape underwear?

I want that world to be real. I want to listen to the WWW for commentary on the Ballycastle Bats kicking the arse of the Wimbourne Wasps in the latest Quidditch match. I want to Apparate from place to place � it would save on train tickets. I want my wand to actually function. I want to travel by Floo powder. I want...sigh, so many things that I�ll never have.

I used to say I wanted to live in the Gilmore Girls world but I think the world of wizards and witches is more me (sorry Livingwreck � I�ll still visit though!). Even if there is the chance that You Know Who could murder me on the spot.

It sure beats the heck out of the place my mind is in at the moment.

Tyd

19 May 2003 - 9:49 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011