Five Years and Thanks For Nothing

And just when I thought I'd gotten over the bitterness, here it comes in droves.

I organised drinks for myself on Friday night. I did this because...well because I'm normally the one that organises drinks/farewells/presents/cards/etc for everyone and so there was no one to really organise it for me.

A few people said they couldn't come but they did drop me an email or come around to my desk to say goodbye. That was nice.

It was the boss's wife's birthday on Friday so he had to leave earlier to take her out to dinner. He took me for a drink first and we bitched about an ex-employee and also about his first impression of me (it was good!).

Then I hurried down to the Cargo bar to meet the other people that would turn up for drinks to farewell me.

No one came.

I waited and I waited until I just bought myself two bourbon and cokes and sat on the edge of a couch and cried. The combination of no one turning up and the fact that the job I had had for the last five years was over hit me like a tonne of bricks. I felt like such a bloody loser, it was horrible.

So kids some advice: Don't work for Jones Lang LaSalle � they couldn�t give a crap about their employees.

Call me crazy but five years is substantial in the workplace, a card would have been nice, or geez even some sort of acknowledgement. Don't just sweep it under the carpet and pretend the Residential Development Marketing division never existed!

There was no official notice to the rest of the company about it, I had to explain to people that I hadn't resigned, I was retrenched.

If they don't start paying attention to their employees as people and not just tradable commodities they'll have more than budget restraints to worry about.

Angrily yours

Tyd

17 August 2003 - 11:03 pm

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011