The Epitome of Coolness

When is it that in one�s professional life, one reaches the epitome of coolness? I gauge it all on a ridiculous scale that includes having business cards.

I remember back when I was in college and my friend (who was going to a different college) would talk about all the cool things that we were learning and that you�d only see in movies or TV shows and things you�d heard about. Okay to the everyday schmoe a binding machine and a photocopier that can sort, double-side and staple all at once may not be excited, but to us it was the epitome of cool. I�m trying to use the word epitome at least five or six times in this entry. You know why? Because epitome is just the epitome of cool words. Hehe.

When we started our jobs, all unsure and submissive we were, we�d email each other to say �Guess what? I�ve got a meeting tomorrow. That�s right, a meeting. Like a real office!� Well of course it was a real office, but you get my drift. The first time I did a stationery order I nearly fell off my chair with excitement. You could let me loose in Officeworks and I�d die of happiness and papercuts. Happy papercuts.

Then as the years progressed I started calling meetings and then going to meetings as the division contact with really big companies (Fairfax for instance) and feeling all very special and terrified at the same time. But something was missing. It was something small but in my opinion very relevant. That was business cards. Now I�m a secretary, we don�t get business cards � company policy and all that crap. I�ve been tempted over the years to order some (because I do all the card ordering) but knew I�d be caught out.

I now have a legitimate reason! Woo hoo! Something about preventing site people from cross selling and giving prospective purchasers my contact details to tell them all of our projects. And as I type this entry I look over at the small but vitally important box of business cards that has now taken up residence on my desk. I can�t wait to be incredibly wanky and throw a few around at a party or something. Hehehe. Small things, amusing small minds. You know how it works.

Consider me officially un-moped!

Tyd

24 January 2003 - 10.28 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011