Weighing In On World Idol

This will be twice in a row that I miss the announcement of an Idol winner. I was in rehearsals for the first Australian Idol winner and now I�ll be at the airport dropping Dad off for his flight to New Zealand while World Idol is announced. I was perfectly happy to get up at 6.30am to watch it, but now I must get up before 5.00am so I can drive him to the airport.

I don�t mind really (well actually I do) and I know it�s very selfish of me, but I really wanted to see it in real time. Is that too much to ask?

I did have some thoughts about the performances. I wanted myself to cool down a bit first, as I get rather over excited about these things.

Excuse me while I put on my judging cap. I have absolutely no qualifications, as Ryan from Canada put it �They didn�t go to judging school�. Here are my thoughts on the contestants:

Germany (Alexander) � Bad song choice. Really bad song choice. Plus, he looked like an aerobics instructor.

Netherlands (Jamai) � I liked it. Haven�t heard Elton John do the original but I thought the bloke did a good job. He also looked really familiar and I can�t figure out why.

Pan Arabic (Diana) � Gorgeous soulful voice. Didn�t have to understand the words, it was a beautiful performance.

South Africa (Heinz) � Oh, he�s a heartthrob all right. He�s quite a good singer, but it�s more traditional than pop and funky.

Belgium (Peter) � Excellent rendition of Nirvana�s Lithium. Nice rebuttal to the judges too. He�s got the talent, but as they said �Not mainstream enough�

Poland (Alex) � Should have picked a different song. An Anastasia one perhaps, it would have suited her voice better.

Canada (Ryan) � He has a good voice, but I think he was lacking something. Sincerity perhaps? I don�t know what, it just seemed a little off.

USA (Kelly) � It�s Kelly freaking Clarkson. Of course she was good. She just seemed so relaxed like it came so easy to her. Am very jealous.

Australia (Guy) � A lot of people didn�t want him to sing this, including me. I think he should have sung �Climb Every Mountain�. It better shows off his voice talents and I believe he would have knocked everyone�s socks (including Kelly�s) off with his powerful rendition. You don�t believe me? Download it on Kazaa. Seeing him sing it gave it an extra punch and he even shed a tear at the end. He�s just such a genuine person. If he doesn�t win, he at least deserves a Mr Congeniality award.

UK (Will) � I was expecting big things from him, huge things, because people had raved so much about him and I hadn�t heard him sing before. One word � disappointed. The Polish judge may have been on drugs that night, but I think some of what he said about Will was spot on. I really thought he could have brought the tempo up more on that song. I don�t think he did himself any favours.

Norway (Kurt) � What a voice! He was great! And he does look like a hobbit. I don�t think that was meant to be insulting.

So if you voted for World Idol, who did you vote for?

You may have noticed that I update at weird times. There is something about the time around Christmas and New Year that throws my whole sleeping pattern out of whack.

For the last few days going to bed earlier than 2.00am seems to be insane. I just sit there in front of the TV or the computer and I keep going. And then when I think I must be exhausted I go to bed and lie there for an hour twiddling my thumbs before getting out of bed and going to do something.

I didn�t go to bed Christmas night, I went at 4.30am Boxing Day morning. It�s weird.

I think without noticing that I turned into an owl.

Tyd

28 December 2003 - 2:59 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011