Try A Neon Sign, Might Make It A Little More Obvious

I went music store shopping today. I thought I�d try Sanity because HMV is always so stuffed to the brim. Plus I walk past Sanity every morning and I haven�t gone in there yet. It opened last year I think. So anyway - I was on a mission to buy an album (Chicago) and possibly a DVD. I had a headache so the overly bouncy hyper-cheerfulness of a sales assistant wasn�t going to mesh well. I stayed away until I had stockpiled three CDs (one album, two singles) and a DVD.

Here�s a friendly tip to the staff of Sanity - If you�re trying to sell a customer something else you do it subtly. Not this totally in your face �Hey they have an album out. All the songs on the album are like the first one they released. You�ll like it� and then because they are slow at serving people you hear them do it three times. Takes the specialness out of it, don�t you think? I don�t know about you but when I go to the cash register it�s because I�ve finished shopping and want to buy the things I�ve selected, not because I�ve wandered around for a while and suddenly though �Oh no I can�t think for myself, I�ll have this over-hyped moron do it for me. Help me bouncy ferret boy!�

So I asked the girl if they were required to blatantly try to sell you the whole album if you were just buying a single or the DVD so they made more money. Then she slipped into the standard speech as outlined above. Even throwing in a few �When they release other songs you might like those and then you�d have to keep buying the others and you may as well buy the album�. So as I was leaving the extra hyper bloke launched once more into an album tirade (this time about a different artist but was just like the other one this man was purchasing he said) and I turned to the girl and smiled saying �You guys are shocking. Shameless�. I don�t think she expected that. Her perky look went kinda blank.

I don�t need music advice from a person that �sings� along to lyric-less hardcore techno thanks.

Tyd

PS - The term �We Are At War� is possibly the weirdest and scariest thing I have ever seen. I don�t support the war but I support our troops. They are just doing their jobs - they may not believe in what they are doing but they don�t need 19 million of their fellow Australians making them feel bad about it.

21 March 2003 - 9:55 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011