It Isn�t Easy Being Gr...Mottled Brownish

The parental units left for their trip to Spain and Portugal yesterday morning. I drove them to the station with their luggage and accompanied them on the train to the airport. I stayed on the train and headed to work though. The house seems to be making a lot more unusual noises than is...well, usual. They�ve gone away before and I�ve got used to the noises but last night I heard knocking. Like someone was knocking on the bedroom door. Then this morning I thought I heard someone come in the front door. We have this jingly jangly bell thing on the back of the wooden door and it makes a very distinct sound. So it�s either ghosts or over imagination.

I didn�t sleep very well at all. I could hear the dog biting his foot or licking his leg all the time. It was driving me nuts. I can�t figure how something like that (which barely warrants any volume at all) can keep me awake but my foundation shaking snoring doesn�t.

So this morning in the cranky-rushing-around-trying-to-get-ready period of the morning I looked out into the backyard to see a magpie land on the edge of the pool and drop something inadvertently. My first thought was it was a frog because we�d had a little frog in the pool recently. But I was pretty far away from the pool so I couldn�t see clearly. It could have been a giant funnel web spider too. It was just resting on the bottom of the pool. I thought it best to go investigate cause I would try and get it out if it was a frog. If it was a spider it could drown down there for all I care. We�ve already got jars filled with preserved spiders that we�ve caught in the pool before, plus ew.

It was a frog and quite a big one too. So then came the comic running around the pool trying to scoop it out with the extra long handled leaf scoopy thing. They look so graceful when they are swimming. So finally I managed to trick it into swimming right into the net and I got it out. I then told it to go hide in the bushes as the magpie could be back for it. It just stared at me blankly with it�s big yellow eyes.

I wonder if magpies taste like chicken, frogs do...apparently

Tyd

1 May 2003 - 11:18 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011