Masters of Disguise

Since I've started watching the cricket these last few years I have noticed that I have a problem. Usually I can be remarkably observant with things but I've realised that when it comes to cricket players I only look at their arms, legs, torsos, hands, feet and backs � not at their faces.

So much so that when the camera swings up to the players box I am often heard saying "Who�s that? Never seen him before" to which the reply is generally "Simon Katich, Shane Watson, Cameron White, Michael Hussey etc". I just don't seem to be able to figure out who they are when they are not wearing a helmet. It's like normally to me they are just a pair of eyes, a nose and maybe a mouth but they don't have hair.

That being said I don't recognise Nathan Hauritz when he actually has a hat on. But I think I might be getting better. I really think that something in my brain is starting to click over.

So today BabyDonk and I went out for a walk to the library in the stifling heat and on the way back there was a bloke coming towards us on a bike. He looked vaguely familiar (damn him and that helmet) and then before he'd passed us I managed to smile and say hello and realise that he was one of the waiters from the caf� round the corner that we frequent a darn sight more often than we frequent church.

I was that excited that I wanted to put the brakes on the pram and get my mobile out to send The Sexy a text to let him know that I recognised someone with a helmet on!

I�m guessing his reply would have been something like - "Oh, otay honey", which is The Sexy for "Pats you on the head and gives you that look reserved for forgetful old ladies" but instead I just told him on msn and he laughed.

I think he enjoys that I'm a little strange. Seriously, living in my world is sometimes terribly entertaining.

Tyd

3 November 2009 - 1:10 pm

Make your mark | 1 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011