Masterchef this Ain't

I know the first season of Masterchef Australia has been over for a while but it's taken me that long to be influenced by it. That and it pretty much started when BabyDonk was born and there isn't much you can do with frozen meals to make them look all wanky and restaurant like.

Do the other night I decided I would try to make a reduction. Now I thought I would add a little sugar otherwise the balsamic vinegar would be even more tart as a reduction. I practically failed chemistry at school. I don't know anything about cooking or science or the melting points of things or what certain things are made of.

Here is a picture of the lovely meal

The tiny bowl with the dark "liquid" in it is the reduction. However, instead of a pinch of sugar (which is what I should have put in) I put in quite a lot of sugar. The supposed reduction dipping sauce for the vegetables was in fact a new invention called Balsamic Vinegar Toffee.

Yes, I am that stupid. I had no idea how toffee was made (didn't consider it important because I don't eat it) and boy was I surprised when The Sexy tried to dip his vegetables in the "sauce" and instead just made an imprint in the tar-like surface. Epic cooking fail!

For my next trick I think I'll go back to basics and see if I can get this boiling water thing down pat.

A Julie-like panicking

Tyd

2 August 2009 - 8:14 am

Make your mark | 0 have left their mark

[ back | front ]



Lilypie Kids birthday PicLilypie Kids birthday Ticker

Tyd Links
home + past + fanfiction
profile + rings/links + host


Missed These?
Relocation Imminent!
- 20 October 2011

Don�t Dumb It Down
- 29 September 2011

A New Year Has Come
- 8 January 2011

What baby?
- 13 December 2010

That's Not Quite The Definition
- 16 May 2010


Other Bloggers
+ sarkasmo +
+ affers +
+ gemma-clarke +


Title Banner Layout by Tyd
� 2001-2011